Email This Post Email This Post

Clues to the Missing eBay Auto-Relist Box

Reports from eBay sellers that they were no longer able to automatically extend their listings three times at no additional charge came flooding in to EcommerceBytes, as we reported on the EcommerceBytes Blog over the holiday weekend.

Now comes an announcement from eBay’s UK marketplace about the disappearance of the checkbox.

“As of 6 October, we’ve made some changes to the Auto Relist feature which we’ve been testing with some of our Private Sellers over the last few months. The Auto Relist feature relists items for free up to 3 times (if selected) – this has been changed to 1 time. This means that listings with Auto Relist will only be automatically relisted once.”

Sponsored Link

eBay has been coy about the feature from the beginning. It initially ran the feature as a promotion late last year, and in January, sellers noticed it remained. And in June, it mysteriously disappeared for many sellers.

eBay UK’s announcement provides clues as to the thinking behind the decision to halt the free relists. It advised sellers to evaluate listings that didn’t sell – for example, to make sure the price is fair and has at least 2-3 good quality photos.

As one seller had told us, an eBay customer service rep had told them that sellers who wished to revise the listing before it got auto-relisted were unable to do so. Sellers can revise listings after they are relisted, but it’s possible eBay believes that sellers may be more inclined to improve listings if they have to manually relist them.

Comment on the AuctionBytes Blog.

Ina Steiner on EmailIna Steiner on LinkedinIna Steiner on Twitter
Ina Steiner

Ina Steiner is co-founder and Editor of EcommerceBytes and has been reporting on ecommerce since 1999. Send news tips to ina@ecommercebytes.com.


Leave a Reply