Email This Post Email This Post

Amazon Sellers Have til August 28 to Move to New Selling Platform

Whether you have an Individual or Pro Merchant account on Amazon, you are on one of two platforms: either the old Marketplace platform or the newer Selling on Amazon platform. Word came this week that all sellers must migrate to the new platform.

In March, after years of offering both platforms, Amazon invited sellers on the legacy platform to migrate to the new SOA platform. On Tuesday, it told sellers they would have until the end of August to migrate, otherwise, it would move them over itself.

In March, EcommerceBytes explained some of the ins and outs of moving to the new platform. Here is the letter sellers received on Tuesday:

Sponsored Link

Dear Seller,
We previously informed you that you can now migrate your Selling on Amazon account to the latest version of Selling on Amazon. Starting this summer, Amazon will be migrating all seller accounts from the previous version of Selling on Amazon to this updated version.

During the migration, your products will continue to remain buyable. After the migration, you will retain your ratings, reviews, feedback, listings, inventory, existing disbursement options, and category, product, brand registry, and ISBN approvals. After migration, you can also take advantage of the following additional features to grow your business on Amazon:

  • Sell on Amazon.ca and Amazon.com.mx from your existing account using a North America Unified Account.
  • Provide your terms and conditions, return information, privacy notice, shipping policies and FAQs to customers.

Learn more about North America Unified Accounts: (link)

To take advantage of these benefits, you can migrate your account on your own up until August 29, 2016. Note that the account migration generally takes only a couple of minutes.

Learn more about migrating your seller account today: (link)

If you have not migrated your account on your own, on August 28, we will begin migrating your Selling on Amazon account to the latest version of Selling on Amazon. After migration, the terms of the Amazon Services Business Solutions Agreement (“the Agreement”) including the Selling on Amazon Fee Schedule will apply to your use of the Selling on Amazon Service. Your continued use of the selling on amazon service or your seller central account after your account has been migrated will constitute your acceptance of the agreement.

If you do not wish to migrate your account or accept the terms of the BSA, you must close your account on or before August 29, 2016.

Learn more about closing your seller account: (link)

Amazon Services Business Solutions Agreement (the “agreement”) (link)

Selling on Amazon Fee schedule (link)

Regards,
Amazon Services

As we noted in March, it’s best to check your settings after migrating to the new platform, especially shipping settings.

Ina Steiner on EmailIna Steiner on LinkedinIna Steiner on Twitter
Ina Steiner

Ina Steiner is co-founder and Editor of EcommerceBytes and has been reporting on ecommerce since 1999. Send news tips to ina@ecommercebytes.com.


Leave a Reply