Email This Post Email This Post

Relist Checkbox Disappears from eBay

As mysteriously as it appeared on eBay, the relist checkbox is mysteriously disappearing, according to some sellers. In January EcommerceBytes reported that when some sellers listed items on eBay, a checkbox called “Automatically relist this item up to 3 times if it doesn’t sell” appeared and was automatically checked.

Now sellers are asking where the checkbox has gone. “It seems eBay has eliminated or curtailed its Relist 3 times feature,” wrote one reader.

Another reader wrote, “Over the last several days I noticed that the feature to automatically relist auction listing that did not sell three times (a check box at the end of the listing process) is no longer available. I see no announcements about this feature. Can you find out of this time-saving feature has been discontinued?”

Sponsored Link

eBay hadn’t announced the feature back in January, but eBay spokesperson Ryan Moore told us at the time, “We’re in the process of rolling out product changes for this particular feature. As of Jan. 8th, sellers who have elected into auto-relist are getting insertion and advance listing upgrade fees waived. The content on the site is in the process of being updated to reflect the pricing changes.”

When asked on Monday if eBay had eliminated or curtailed its Relist 3 times feature, Moore replied, “The auto-relist feature is still live and free.”

Moore directed us to the eBay help page that describes the automatic relist feature and said, “Last week we experienced an issue in which some eligible sellers were unable to view the auto-relist checkbox,” he said. “This issue has since been resolved.”

It appears at least some sellers are still having problems viewing the checkbox as evidenced by emails to EcommerceBytes on Monday and online discussion threads.

The auto-relist feature is designed to be available on both auction and fixed-price listings, but relisting items automatically isn’t available for Good ‘Til Cancelled or multi-quantity listings. And, eBay explains on its help page, “Your eligibility to relist an item automatically is based on your transactions and sales. When you’re eligible to relist an item automatically, you see the option in the listing form. You can see your transactions and sales in your Seller Dashboard in My eBay.”

Ina Steiner on EmailIna Steiner on LinkedinIna Steiner on Twitter
Ina Steiner

Ina Steiner is co-founder and Editor of EcommerceBytes and has been reporting on ecommerce since 1999. Send news tips to ina@ecommercebytes.com.


Leave a Reply