EcommerceBytes Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor
Your emails to EcommerceBytes
For consideration, send your email to ina@auctionbytes.com with "Letters to the Editor Blog" in the subject line! Remember to include your name as you would like it to appear in the blog.
Mon Sept 12 2016 15:07:38

Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsewhere

By: Reader

Sponsored Link

Dear Ina,
Twice over the weekend, while in eBay, it rolled over to a "you need to upgrade firefox right now" page, which itself immediately opened a bogus download box. 

I haven't seen mention of this anywhere, yet.
Steven

Note from the Editor: This kind of malware can happen, according to the Firefox Mozilla forums, and may also be a reason for eBay's decision to ban Active Content next year. Thanks for the reminder to beware of unsolicited notices that convey a sense of urgency, whether through email or when you are browsing a trusted website.




Comments (5) | Permalink

Readers Comments

Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsew   Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsew

by: FeelingFroggy This user has validated their user name.

Mon Sep 12 18:52:49 2016

Why would one even consider that any message on Ebay is Urgent or otherwise. If it doesn't come thru fleecebay messages its not a message.

Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsew   Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsew

This user has validated their user name. by: Marie

Mon Sep 12 20:27:53 2016

Ebay in the past has used on screen messages to communicate something they deem important.  However the messages don't require you to log into anything because if it appears for you, you are already logged into your account.

For example, when they changed the UA to include the clause of no class action lawsuits.  Ebay had an onscreen message appear [a couple months after they announced the change] for those that had not yet accepted the new UA.  To go any further you had to accept it.  Then you were released to go about your business.  If you did not, you couldn't access your account any further [unless you wanted to close it].

They had similar on screen messages after the hacking of 2014, encouraging member to reset their passwords as well.  I'm sure there were others over the years, but these two stand out to me.

As the Editor states, whenever any message requires you to log in to proceed or do something, don't do it.  ALWAYS open a browser and go their regular website on your own and see what might be going on.  If it is legit, it will be on the site.

Never ever use a link from an email or pop up to get to a site.  That is most likely a disaster waiting to happen.  I must say I'm still surprised at how many people still fall for stuff like this.  It isn't new by any stretch.  But I guess scammer continue to use this method because it works for them!  Even after all these years.

Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsew   Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsew

This user has validated their user name. by: Bill

Tue Sep 13 02:03:38 2016

I also get the Firefox message while on eBay that fills the whole screen and then you have to back out. This has been happening for about a week.
I would assume that eBay has been hacked again.

Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsew   Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsew

by: timeaftertime This user has validated their user name.

Wed Sep 14 16:59:01 2016

Has everyone forgotten that Firefox UPDATES ITSELF automatically (double check your settings to make sure it will do this - or go to th Firefox page and check to make sure you are using the latest version).  

There is NO reason to do anything about ''updating'' or ''upgrading'' Firefox.  

INDEED hackers can make ''anything'' look like ''anything'' regardless of where it appears. I don't know who hacked whom but responding to that pop-up or prompt or whatever it is, is asking for trouble.  

Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsew   Think Twice about Urgent Messages on eBay or Elsew

by: timeaftertime This user has validated their user name.

Wed Sep 14 16:59:58 2016

A big flashy WARNING thing especially when it covers the whole screen is called a ''DRIVE BY'' (like the shooting technique)

You are lucky you can back out.  



Login is required to post comments.
To sign in to leave a comment using your AB Verify User Name, fill in the form below. If you have not yet signed up for AB Verify, or if you'd like more information, go to the Registration Page
.

Login for AB Verify
Be sure and use your email address and password to log in.

 
Email:
Password:
 
 Forgot Your Password?
 Even though you are signed in with the AuctionBytes Blog, you will have to sign in to the EcommerceBytes blog. But you can sign in with your existing AB Verify info.