|Wed June 1 2016 15:57:48|
Outcry over Etsy Billing for New Pattern Service
By: Ina Steiner
Remember when Etsy launched the new Pattern service
in April that offers an off-Etsy shop that would mirror sellers' Etsy shops? At the time, there was a lot of confusion from sellers as to whether they had actually signed up for a free trial or not.
So when some sellers reported this week Etsy had billed them for Pattern when they had not signed up, they were livid that Etsy would not remove the charges from their bills.
"Just talked to Etsy on the phone and they said I have to pay the $27.10 even if I didn't start my shop up. I never even set it up and I didn't even know I had signed up. I am so mad," wrote this seller
Not all sellers saw a charge for Pattern on their invoices, we've got a question in to Etsy to learn more about the issue and how they will handle it. Stay tuned!
UPDATE 6/1/16: We continue to receive emails from sellers who are perturbed about the billing issue described in several threads on the Etsy boards.
Etsy responded to our inquiry with the following statement:
"We looked into this post and it is not related to any bug; we also confirmed that if a seller has been charged for Pattern, it is not in error. Pattern fees were only incurred when a seller signed up for a Pattern site and the free trial ended. While some individuals may have forgotten that they signed up, it is a two-step process to do so and all sellers who sign up receive follow-up emails about their trial.
"Here's more information about how Pattern fees are applied to seller bills after the 30-day trial period ends:
- After the 30-day trial, a seller will see a fee for Pattern that is adjusted to reflect the remainder of that month.
- Then, on the 1st of the following month after the trial ends, the seller will see the full $15 charge for Pattern fees for the new month ahead.
"As stated in the Pattern policies, sellers may cancel at any time and will only be charged for the time after the free-trial period ended. The option to cancel can be found under settings."